Frivolous thoughts in transit

I was raised as a Jehovah’s Witness, which means I spent my formative years breathing existential terror of an imminent, divinely authored apocalypse. Now, as I witness the continuing global decline of the social and ecological worlds, I wonder at my perception.

Am I predisposed to apocalyptic pessimism due to my upbringing, or am I more willing to accept the harsh reality because of that cognitive and psychological conditioning?

I’m currently on my way to having a few drinks, so I doubt I’ll care much beyond the next few minutes.

One comment on “Frivolous thoughts in transit

  1. flokell@comcast.net says:

    Good to hear from you. I miss receiving your Church of the Bad News thoughts. I hope your evening is a good one. Love, Flo

Leave a Reply

