PIECE OF SHIT OF THE WEEK

It’s been a long time since I’ve singled anyone out for this dubious honor, but this morning Digby points the way to a really deserving character.

Ordinarily, I don’t waste time bitching about the NRA. Hell, I’ve even considered joining at one time or another. I have no problem with responsible gun ownership. I know too many people who own them, and a few of them might even be classified as ‘gun nuts.’ That doesn’t make them bad people, and it doesn’t make them any more likely than non-gun owners to deliberately try to hurt anyone. In fact, responsible gun owners know their weapons, respect them, and are incredibly careful with them. Once I even had a very responsible gun owner (and really great guy) allow me to fire a few from his collection. I gained a new, visceral understanding of just how dangerous and deadly guns are, and I gained a new respect for responsible gun owners.

All that said, the NRA is a political organization with strong financial ties to weapons manufacturers. The NRA’s motivations go well beyond protecting the rights of private citizens to own firearms for protection, sport, or whatever. It has a vested interest in boosting gun sales by any means necessary. So when NRA president Wayne LaPierre gets up in front of a group of right-wing mouthbreathers and says–

I don’t care if their butts pucker from here to the Potomac, the Founding Fathers understood that the guys with the guns make the rules

–I don’t care if he’s stupid-crazy enough to believe it or if he’s just throwing finely ground red meat to the toothless carnivores. He’s a vile asshole for saying that shit. I won’t be a part of any organization that espouses such anti-democratic, pre-Hobbesian views.

Leave a Reply

