SAY WHAT?!

Firefighters for Obama

I don’t think this is going to sit too well with the right-wing chuckleheads on my department.  As many times as I’ve heard some of these highly paid, unionized public employees complain that our nation’s troubles are caused by “too many liberals,” I don’t expect the IAFF’s endorsement to be embraced by too many among the rank and file in Chicago.  In spite of the likely strong turnout for Obama in the city at large, I’d be willing to bet that John McCain wins the Chicago firefighter vote.  

Now I’m no Obama fan, but it amazes me how many of the aforementioned highly paid, unionized public employees consider themselves conservative enough to vote for the party that takes a special pride in crushing unions and pissing on working people.  It’s fucking shameful, and I wonder if there will be any shame when it comes time to ask the taxpayers for a raise.  Somehow I doubt it.

Leave a Reply

