OFF TO GOTHAM

In a few hours, I’ll be on a plane to NYC. I’ll be travelling with R., Isabel, and my sister. I haven’t been to New York since I was about eleven or twelve years old, and I don’t remember anything of value from that trip. It should be interesting. Maybe if I’m lucky, I’ll have time to see visit The ‘Endless’ Memorial, and maybe even buy one of the t-shirts that inspired yet another incident of U.S. citizens banding together to behave like frightened, spoiled children.

Meanwhile, I must tell you that yesterday afternoon I had the most wonderful (and all too brief) time with Aunt B. from Tiny Cat Pants. We had an early dinner at Russian Tea Time, then headed over to the Harold Washington Library for a quick tour (which included a visit to the little-known Harold Washington exhibit on the 9th floor; this place is highly recommended).

Aunt B. is a magnificent individual, and she’s now my favorite avowed feminist. If I had time this morning, I’d wax extensive about how this blogging existence is a great way for like minds and not-so-like minds to meet and exchange ideas and feelings that still pales in comparison to good old fashioned getting together, but I think you get my point. I’ve made a new friend, and I count myself honored and lucky to have done so. Now R. and I have yet another damned good excuse to visit Nashville.

See you in a few days.

Leave a Reply

