MISSING THE FOREST FOR THE PINE CONES

During a recent round of politically-oriented collective e-mailing, a friend of mine once remarked that she found my insights and offerings well-thought, but “angry.” I didn’t respond to that last bit at the time, because I love and respect this person, and I didn’t want to write anything cross or rude to her. However, her assessment begs the question: how long does she plan on not being fucking angry? How can one look at what our government is doing– in our name, and with our tax dollars– and not be angry?

Now, I know most people have personal hurdles that suck up much of their mental, physical, and emotional energy; my dear friend included. Also, I know that my very fortunate life allows me the time, energy, and resources to pursue greater knowledge of what’s going on in the world (and to decompress from the emotional weight of it all). That notwithstanding, I believe that it is pointless to fuss over a clogged cabin toilet while the cruise ship is sinking. It is not much better to gleefully assault the midnight buffet under the same perilous circumstances.

I now segue from that analogy to the real world, where the U.S.S. United States is taking on copious amounts of water:

Top Ten Signs of the Impending U.S. Police State

One comment on “

  1. Cynthia says:

    I’m surprised that more people are not angry. I think it is interesting that people can even say you are angry for reporting the truth. I’m told this all the time. I guess to keep from appearing to be angry, one must lie about what they see…

Leave a Reply

