BARNEY FIFE REALPOLITIK

I read this story, and my first reaction is that someone is making a funny. It almost reads like something out of The Onion. Anyway, if the story is anywhere near accurate, I think I am not offside in repeating my oft-uttered sentiment that this U.S. empire is careening toward a precipice, and the current drivers are flooring it.

As I sat down to write this post, I thought of a colleague of mine– stuck in a nitwit political Cold War mentality as he is– who once uttered the phrase “fuck the Russians.” I quickly retorted that Putin and Co. are now top Bushie allies (the aforementioned colleague is a staunch Bush backer, of course). There was no further discussion of the matter at the time, but I can’t help but wonder how this colleague would react if he discovered that his political heroes are hiring his imaginary, erstwhile nemeses to do their dirty work (and pouring an elephant pile of arms into notorious vortex of anti-U.S. militancy in the process).

Meanwhile, it bears mentioning that this story must be taken with a grain of salt. The Telegraph isn’t exactly a bastion of progressive muckraking. Still, I find it quite amusing that any inkling of this plan being a bad idea is relegated to a vague punchline at the end of the story:

Some observers pointed to the irony of the deal, because when the Soviet Union occupied Afghanistan the Americans sold Stinger surface-to- air missiles to the Mujahideen to enable them to shoot down Moscow’s aircraft.

Leave a Reply

