IN CONTEXT, THE
QUOTE OF THE DAY

Earlier this week I finally finished Antonia Juhasz’s The Bush Agenda. I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to understand more of the how and most of the why behind the Bushies’ massive cock-up in Iraq.

Currently I’m a wee smidge more than halfway through Stephen Kinzer’s Overthrow, and I highly recommend this one, too. Kinzer does a fine job of summing up some of the U.S.’s most egregious foreign policy sins.

From the Kinzer book, I offer you a quote from Prince Sinahouk of Cambodia (said quote being uttered at the height of the war in Southeast Asia):

“Our American friends are remarkable organizers, brilliant technicians and excellent soldiers. But their incontestable realism stops short of the realm of politics, where the attitude of the ostrich seems to them to conform best to their interests.”

2 comments on “

  1. Cynthia says:

    Interesting quote… I think I need to buy The Bush Agenda…

Leave a Reply

