A READING THAT MADE ME FEEL A BIT ILL

A little while ago R. read “Cinderella” to Isabel, because we’ve been trying to increase our instances of reading to her. We feel it will help her to develop her language skills. Anyway, R. was embellishing rather cheekily upon the Cinderella story as she read, which made it amusing for me. (On a side note, I informed her of a cable sex-romp version of Cinderella I’d seen years ago while trying to get to sleep in the wee hours at the firehouse; this one featured Sy Richardson as a gay “fairy godmother.” As odd as that concept might seem, it couldn’t hope to approach the creepiness of a Cinderella children’s book featuring costumed dogs in photos.)

Anyway, R. finished the story and was ready to go eat, but Isabel was still wearing the cranky pants. I decided I’d take over the reading duties, and I reached for my Howard Zinn. In “Voices of a People’s History of the United States,” I’ve gotten near the end; I’m at the part about the ’91 Gulf War. The bits I decided to read were a letter by Alex Molnar (to George H.W. Bush) about his Marine son being shipped off to Iraq, and an edited version of a speech by Eqbal Ahmad which was given a few months before the Gulf War’s commencement.

It is the second item to which I refer in this post’s title. I found a transcript of the speech on the web, and I urge you to go read it. I’ve read so many viewpoints about the state of the Middle East today, and about how U.S. involvement in the region has made easy heroes out of the likes of Osama bin Laden. However, this speech spells out a lot, and ties a lot together.

“Roots of the Gulf Crisis”
Eqbal Ahmad

The reading put Isabel to sleep. I wish it could have the same effect on me.

5 comments on “

  1. Cynthia says:

    That was an interesting read. And – the people are still consenting…

  2. Cynthia says:

    I just wanted say, I like your new look. Just in case you didn’t know, you can get different templates for blogger using the following link:http://blogger-templates.blogspot.com/

  3. teh l4m3 says:

    It’s wonderful that you’re reading to her. My parents started from the moment I was born, and had me reading on my own by the time I was 3-3 1/2.Maybe next you could start in on Sagan’s Demon-Haunted World ;).P.S. Loved your letter from Tuesday, very well-written. I suppose there are valid criticisms to be made of the Chavez administration, but Right-wingers never seem to make them.

  4. Cynthia: thanks, and thanks. I like this design. It’s the perfect balance of easy readability and colorful darkness. Who could ask for anything more?Teh: If my daughter wants to be ignorant after she grows up and leaves home, that’s up to her. Until then, I’ll do my best to see that she enjoys learning. Readin’ are fun-damental, ya know?Regarding the letter, thanks. Dennis Byrne, as a columnist, is a smug, idiotic reactionary. That he gets paid for that says a lot about corporate media in general, and the Chicago Tribune specifically. As Cynthia says, though, Chicago’s newspapers suck.

  5. Cynthia says:

    CS: You are right, I do think the new layout is more user friendly. And, it is much easier on the eyes.

Leave a Reply

