FAIRNESS

Sometimes it is best that I leave the writing to someone else. This is especially true when I want to express my feelings and thoughts about the Israeli occupation of Palestine. In that vein, I will give you a few links and encourage you to follow them.

Before that, I’d like to say something brief about the topic of fairness. One thing I’ve heard from some of my less progressive colleagues is that “life isn’t fair.” That phrase is usually uttered in response to someone else’s complaint or protest against some injustice or other. My unspoken response to that expressed sentiment, which I will in the future make a point of vocalizing, is that it’s easy to rationalize the unfairness of life as long as you aren’t on the short end of it.

In order to value fairness for others as I value it for myself, it is necessary that I have constant sense of empathy. In other words, I must be able to place myself in another’s shoes no matter the color of their skin, their political leanings, or their income level. I should demand this behavior of myself and my government (seeing that I live in a representative democracy). With that in mind, I suggest you read the following article:

Democracy and Double Standards: The Palestinian “Exception”

Also, for a bit of background, I recommend this article:

Puppet on a String: Hamas Dances to Israel’s Tune

Finally, for an understanding of the pathetic nature of the information that comes to us through corporate media organs about the Israeli/Palestinian conflict, I recommend the following DVD:

Peace, Propaganda, and the Promised Land
U.S. Media and the Israeli-Palestinian Conflict

2 comments on “

  1. Elmo says:

    Bush thinks empathy is weakness…what a fool.

  2. teh l4m3 says:

    Unfortunately, when dealing with sociopaths, it too often is.Times like these make it easy to lose faith. Nice guys always finish last, the meek will not inherit the Earth, and all that…

Leave a Reply

