“IS THIS SMOULDERING PILE OF DOG POOP LACED WITH C4?”

A couple of weeks ago, I was driving down Roscoe St., on the way to having a nice breakfast with my wife at Victory’s Banner, when I saw a minivan in front of me sporting a bumper sticker that read as follows:

“IF YOU’RE NOT FOR KICKING SADDAM’S ASS, YOU’RE KISSING SADDAM’S ASS”

Now, I must confess that my first impulse was to run that vehicle off the road, reach in and drag out the driver, and beat her to a pulp while screaming “YOU FUCKING STUPID CUNT!! ARE YOU HAPPY WITH YOUR BLOODY STUPID FUCKING WAR NOW?!”

Of course, when I was a child my mother somehow managed to teach me to contain my impulses at least long enough to evaluate them (of course, this education yielded several negative side effects, such as my not having any practical ambition, but I digress…). So it is almost needless to say that I suppressed that impulse; my moral and political indignation was far less important than the culinary delight I was about to share with my lovely wife. I did manage to make a relatively tame snarky comment or two to R. about the bumper sticker; perhaps I said something about my disgust at the apparent radical wing-nut infestation of our otherwise nice neighborhood.

At any rate, I was reading through Billmon‘s latest few posts and found an entry that made me recall the bumper sticker incident. When you read the post to which I refer, you will understand how the bumper sticker incident ties in with the title above this entry. I hope.

Leave a Reply

