ACCOUNTABILITY

I had thought of doing it earlier, but this morning I finally got around to disabling anonymous comments. See the comments section of the previous post for the reason why I was reminded. Who is “Concerned Lefty”? Is this person a ‘lefty’ at all? Is it a stray troll from FreeperLand? We have no way of knowing, since they didn’t leave a return address.

I don’t care if people disagree with me. Scratch that: I like it when people disagree with me. That’s one of the beauties of democracy: people have the freedom to maintain their own ideas, and to share them without fear of official retribution. Conversely, though, I believe that people should at the very least be willing to stand behind their words and ideas and be willing to face criticism. Stalin’s gulag state could never have worked without the majority of the populace being willing to anonymously defame and slander their fellow citizens. If the U.S. is to maintain any resemblance to its stated democratic values, then this sort of public cowardice should not be tolerated. There should be no such thing as an official anonymous source, and people who have criticisms should be willing to voice them in daylight.

That is why anonymous potshots will no longer be allowed here. Say whatever you want, but identify yourself. If you want to be a coward, at least go through the trouble of joining Blogger and getting a log-in name.

3 comments on “

  1. Cynthia says:

    CS,I thought about the same thing. People are brave when they know they can say things anonymously.

  2. Jeff says:

    Since I posted something about the war last week at the famously anonymous E-83 message board and left a link to my blog at the end, it’s possible that “Concerned Lefty” might be some witty FF from there that wandered on over to the Church, although I had no negative comments myself, surprisingly.

  3. Thanks, Cynthia, Jeff.Jeff, I post on so many comments sections that it could have been any of a number of kooks who followed the link to my blog. Maybe I’m weird, but I do believe that insults should be made to one’s face.

Leave a Reply

