THE NEXT INCH DOWN THE SLIPPERY SLOPE

I don’t consider myself a fan of abortion. I personally consider a human life a valuable thing that should not be extinguished, no matter what stage of development it is in. This, for me, is not a hard, fast rule by any means, though. What if it becomes obvious that the child will be born dead, or with fatal deformities, such as the lack of some critical, functioning vital organ? What if carrying such a child to term would result in the death of the mother?

See, there are just too many variables that can come into play in the fragile relationship between an embryo/fetus and it’s mother; as a member of the half of our species who is incapable of carrying a child, I don’t have the right to interfere in any woman’s decisions regarding her body. That’s why I unequivocally support a woman’s right to choose. If the pro-lifers want to make their presence felt in a truly constructive and non-medieval way, then perhaps they can focus their energies on positive, realistic education instead of on prohibition.

The main problem I have with overturning Roe v. Wade, and criminalizing abortion, is that I believe the reactionary forces behind such efforts won’t stop there. As a case in point, I offer the following news tidbit:

Wash. Judge Nixes Pregnant Woman’s Divorce

Leave a Reply

